Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

So today I bought my first digital comic

I've been collecting comics for almost 25 years. I have thought about getting into digital only due to space in my basement running out and costs. I've looked here and there at comixology from time to time. Today I finally got around to puchasing some comics. Here are some observations from someone new to digital comics.

-Easy to use format. Makes it real easy to impulse buy. Both good and bad there.

-ALOT more free comics than I expected. Yes, many are books you never heard of and likely care less. But you never know what gems you find. Today I read CHEW #1 and SAGA #1 for free.

-Speaking of free. I have an idea. Any series that has been out for over a year or more, make the first issue free. It's been long enough from the release of the first issue that it won't hurt sales. But making that first issue free almost makes a person try a series they may have heard good things about, but never got into. For example: I am not a G I Joe fan. But there was a first issue from one of the various series that was free. I liked it so much I right away went back and bought the next 3 issues. Even if that first issue was only 99 cents I likely wouldn't have tried it. They got me to buy 3 books I never even considered buying in the first place.

-I noticed sometimes the lettering was hard to read. That might have been because I was reading off a laptop. I hear comics on an Ipad are better. Is that true?

-I can't bring myself to pay full cover price for a digital comic. But that's just me. For now I'll only buy books on sale. Or at least some after the price drop many books have after the first month or so after release.

-If Itunes can get around piracy issues for music and movies they sell, why can't comixology? I hate that I can't save my books on my own computer.