Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Hello I'm new.

Hello I'm a newbie when it comes to comics. I just ordered 2 walking dead books and really looking forward to reading them. I've always loved super heroes growing up. Anyways I don't really know how to get into comic books. I have 2 local stores but I'd rather order online. Please give me some advice I'd really appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    GregGreg Posts: 1,946
    edited March 2013
    Welcome!

Any paticular heroes or story genres that you gravitate to more than others?

Getting into comics is as easy as visiting one of those stores and spend some time browsing through the titles and discovering what appeals to you.

For superheroes both DC's New 52 and Marvel Now are good places to start. The New 52 has been here for nearly two years now but is easy to catch up in trades. Mavel is only a few months old.

Explore the smaller publishers, lots of good stuff there.
  • Options
    Welcome!

If you try the New 52 and don't like it, maybe give Invincible a try... excellent super hero action and subplots... really great stuff. Plus, most of its' continuity is internal, making it possible to avoid buying 30 titles and having money left over for food.

Also, outside of super heroes, the Planet of the Apes stuff at Boom is really great.
  • Options
    luke52luke52 Posts: 1,392
    Welcome. I've only been reading comics for a couple if years now. But I found team books to be a good place to start. You get a good selection is characters in one place, helping you decide who to explore in greater depth. DC - I would go with the Justice League books - Justice League, Justice League of America (which is only one issue in) and Justice League Dark. You'll get to know a good selection of 'A' listers, 'B' listers and the darker, more horror driven characters.