Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Murdonian Size Effort -- Advice needed

I've been collecting comics in one form or the other for close to 30 years. I've accumulated a lot: Essentials, Masterworks, Archives, Microfiche, single issues, Showcases, Chronicles, digital comics, you name it. I decided this year to, as well as keep up with current books weekly, to a historical as published reading of comics, starting with the DC Comics of 1935 (all 5 I have access to) and continue from there. I'm currently in March of 1938. The only publisher is DC Comics (The earliest Marvel and Dell I have access to, I think is 1939; Quality, Fawcett, and Fox 1940), the only comics are More Fun, New Adventure, and Detective. Stand-out features are Slam Bradley, Speed Saunders, Spy, Steve Conrad, Dr. Occult, The Golden Dragon, and Slam Bradley, and fear of the 'yellow peril' is in overdrive as 90% of the threats in the strips seem to come from an Asian threat.

Here is where I need advice. Listening to the spotlights has really made me yearn for the stories mentioned, but at the rate I'm going, I'm a good 10 years (or so it feels) from hitting the 60's. Should I diver from my course? Try to have three different tracts: Current, Silver Age Marvel, and all time?

What would you do?

Comments

• Options
    CaptShazamCaptShazam Posts: 1,178
    I say keep doing what you are doing, but maybe take a break from your historical reading during a weekend once every few months and read some of the later stores just for a fun change of pace.
  • Options
    miscatonicmiscatonic Posts: 59
    Where are you getting the info as to publishing dates for the different companies?
  • Options
    CourtOfOwlsCourtOfOwls Posts: 41