Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Advice for Those New to Comics

Hi All!

As a person who has discovered the wonder of comic reading within the past year, I thought it might be a nice idea to create a thread to offer general advice to others who may also be new and in need of a guiding hand. Obviously, I am by no means an expert, but I will list a few lessons that I have learned and tricks that I have found useful in my pursuits thus far. However, as I am sure that there is collectively a great wealth of experience amongst the forums, I would invite others to join in so that we might create the most useful resource possible. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Tips for New Comic Enthusiasts:
1. Visit as many local shops/cons as possible. This is not only an opportunity to learn what is on the market and add to your budding collection, but also a great way to meet other people who share a passion for comics. Feel free to ask the staff about their recommendations. A good shop owner will be more than happy to point you in the right direction of something you will enjoy.

2. Buy discount comics. Whether it be fifty-cent bins of back issues or deeply discounted pre-orders and trades, finding bargain comics is easier than you may think. Many publishers also offer first-issue reprints of their most popular titles for only a dollar. By targeting low-cost books, you will be able to build a library and get exposure to many different writer/artist combos. Don't be afraid to sample something that may not interest you superficially. You will be amazed at how often a book will surprise you, and it is important to try out the full spectrum as you develop your own reading tastes.