Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

How to begin reading comics.

This may seem like a stupid question but I am fairly new to reading comics! I am really excited to begin reading and just as some background info I got into comics by trying to sell a collection I bought offline for a great deal, before this I had a decent knowledge of superheroes from watching cartoons as a kid and finding CGS about a year ago(LOVE the show by the way, Enjoyed many work hours listening). I trimmed a 2000+ collection down to about 600 of mainly wolverine and other ones that caught my attention like events and such. But now I am reluctant to begin my reading because im not sure how I should start. Should I just grab random story arcs, or read all the events in order of publication? Also, If you have any suggestions as to great story arcs I should check out or any other tips to increase my enjoyment/success os reading. Finally, what are your thoughts on Marvel unlimited? Thank you to anyone who takes the time to help a rookie out!

Comments

• Options
    TorchsongTorchsong Posts: 2,794
    1) Find something that catches your eye.
    2) Open to page one.
    3) Move to the next page.
    4) Repeat step 3 until you're addicted, broke from buying too many books, have a bookshelf loaded with books you mean to read one day but couldn't pass up getting at the time because of the deal you got. :)

In all seriousness, just start digging in and finding things you like. Comics is a huge field with something quite literally for everyone out there.

Don't worry about things like continuity or things being in or out of canon - a good story is a good story, and all the fanboy wank in the world won't change that.

Marvel Unlimited is a great way to test the waters and find series you may or may not be interested in. It's well worth the money and will save you a ton on shelf space and longboxes!