Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Best Marvel for New Readers?

I'm kind of new to Marvel in general, and have focused mainly on Vertigo and indie titles over the last few years. I have recently been into Ms. Marvel and Hawkeye, but what else would people recommend? Especially looking for newer titles.

Comments

• Options
    jaydee74jaydee74 Posts: 1,526
    Newer titles? So like stuff basically that starts with Marvel Now? I would try She-Hulk. It's a pretty good title with a great writing and hit or miss art. I have loved Loki: Agent of Asgard. You can't go wrong with Amazing Spider-Man. The solo Cyclops series is very good as well and I've heard some great things about the new Winter Soldier series. Hope that helps.
  • Options
    Given your Vertigo and indie background, I would second She-Hulk, and add Silver Surfer, Ghost Rider, and Moon Knight. You might also want to keep an eye out for the upcoming Squirrel Girl series.
  • Options
    Oh. I would also add Rocket Raccoon. That book is great.
  • Options
    Evening639Evening639 Posts: 368
    edited November 2014
    I very much second Silver Surfer and would also add Captain Marvel, especially since you're already reading Ms. Marvel and I feel those two books are very similar in tone. Kelly Sue DeConnick's writing is fun and quirky with Star Wars references galore. And David Lopez's artistic take on the character is vaguely reminiscent of Amanda Conner's Power Girl, both of which highlight the characters as simultaneously strong but vulnerable women first and superheroes second.