Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Sigh.... looks like I might not be reading DC Comics much longer

When the new 52 happened, I tried a couple things. I started reading Justice League, Superman, Batman, and Supergirl. Justice League is... OK... for now. But when my subscription to Batman and Superman runs out, I don't think I'll be re-newing them.

Batman is the title I have a subscription too, and I've read some trades of the other titles too. I really don't like the writing on the Dark Knight and Batman Inc. Snyder does OK. My main problem is the violence. Maybe I'm too naive or too sensitive or something, but I think we if we added up the number of people who have died on panel in Batman books since the new 52 started, it would be well into the hundreds. There's blood everywhere, especially all over the first Dark Knight trade I just finished. Just gobs of blood all over seemingly every panel. Characters that aren't themselves, including Batman (at one point in The Dark Knight Batman kicks Bane off an incredibly high cliff, Bane falls into the ocean and washes away... seemingly to his death... Batman just responds "he'll be back" ... oh really? is that the writers reasoning for essentially killing someone? just say they'll "be back" and its all ok?).

Am I crazy? I haven't been the most avid read of comics since about 2005, but I've read my fair share and I just don't remember there being this much violence in Batman and this much blood all over everything.