Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Comic Conventions - Have they lost their way? Did they ever have one? :)

http://comicbookwife.com/2014/09/20/the-hidden-truth-about-comic-book-convention-earnings-for-creators-have-comic-book-conventions-jumped-the-shark/

We get articles like this more and more these days. This is the big one du jour. I have my thoughts, but would be interested to hear yours.

Comments

• Options
    RickMRickM Posts: 407
    Can she put this in context -- how much was Dave Dorman making at cons 5 or 10 years ago? Because frankly, I've never heard of the guy, so I would have walked right past his table too. But I would have spent money for George Perez sketches or a Chris Claremont autograph.

I'm new to cons, but here in Michigan it seems we have many tiers of cons. There are monster shows like Motor City Con which attract the Stan Lees and William Shatners and other C-list Hollywood types. We have medium sized cons like one taking place in Grand Rapids in November. And we have tiny shows (comic expos) that take place in a community college and where you can still meet comic pros like Keith Pollard and William Messner-Loebs (guys who live in Michigan). I'm assuming the smaller shows allow vendors and artists to pay less money for a table. Why not focus on those?