Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Help me get started

I'm sure this has been done on this forum before, but I'm looking for timely suggestions and I'm new here so I thought it would be worth a new thread. I've been an on-again off-again comics fan for years, buying trades here and there as they caught my interest. However, I've always felt somewhat out of the loop with comics because I haven't been a dedicated reader for years, so a lot of the big events and characters are ones that I'm not familiar with.

So here's my request - pretend that I'm completely new to comics and am just getting started today. What would you have me start reading, and what books should I start buying like tomorrow? One small-ish caveat: I have a Marvel unlimited subscription, so I would prefer not to buy Marvel books but just read them digitally. So I'm really looking for some reading suggestions there and then for someone to point me in the right direction for some DC books that I should start picking up.

Hopefully, you all can have some fun with this thread and don't find it too annoying. Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• Hey, Buddy... You've entered into a world of fun. Comics are awesome, and there's so much variety, you're bound to find something you love. I'm 50, and have read comics every day since I was 3.

Being out of the loop is ok. I don't read any "modern" comics. I just don't find most appealing, and the price per issue is prohibitive for me. However, I have a HUGE collection of trade paperbacks and hardcovers. I mostly enjoy reading the stuff I read (or missed) from the 70's, and 80's, and some great stuff from the 2000's.

I don't know what you're into... but here's some of my favorites...

New Teen Titans (Wolfman and Perez)
    Popeye (Segar and Sagendorf)
    Astro City
    Bone
    Cerebus (High Society collections)
    Ultimates 1 and 2
    Planetary
    JLA (by Morrison)
    Sandman
    Watchmen