Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

A list of TV Shows/Movies/Commercials I'd like to punch in the face

2»

Comments

• Options
    nweathingtonnweathington Posts: 6,741
    edited April 2014
    fredzilla said:

Torchsong said:

Welcome to Oldsville. :)

Don't worry. I've been a resident of there for some time now. You'll all be fine.

I don't get Adventure Time either. :)

I don't think it's an issue of age (well, maybe some of it is), but of taste. I'm in my mid-thirties and enjoy Adventure Time. There are plenty of things on these forums that people discuss and I couldn't care any less about.
    Agreed. I'm 42 and I love Adventure Time... now. When it first aired the commercials annoyed the crap out of me, and the animation turned me off. But then my daughter (who was 5 or 6 at the time) got into it, and I sat and watched a couple of shows with her. Then I discovered the brilliant, often very subtle world-building at the core of the show, and I fell in love with it.

I know it's not for everyone. The storytelling style can feel herky-jerky and a bit disconnected until you get used to it, but it's a very rewarding show to follow, especially once you get past the first season. For fans of continuity-driven storytelling, there are plot points that get touched on here and there, often when you don't expect it. It's like a big mosaic where you slowly fill in the pieces to see the bigger picture.

If you don't like it, you don't like it, but I would suggest giving it a second chance, because like me, you might be surprised by it.

And I like the voices quite a bit. In fact, I do a pretty decent Ice King—it goes over big with my daughter and her friends anyway. Yay, I'm the cool dad!
  • Options
    batlawbatlaw Posts: 879