Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Real Life, Real Talk - The Community Support Thread

2»

Comments

• Options
    bralinatorbralinator Posts: 5,967
    mwhitt80 said:

Right after I got married the only job I could was a janitor at the church I attended. It was crushing to me.
    I had been working as an accountant for 5 years, but I was also trying to finish my degree and we got married in the middle of 2007 when everything was starting its downward spiral. It was a hardway to start a marriage. My wife was in gradschool for history so that compounded everything even more. It was tough emotionally.

We made it through though and I was humbled more than any point in my life. Looking back 8 years it was one of the most important things that ever happened to me. It made me reavaluate myself and define what was important. I would not trade the shame and crushing blow to myself for anything because of the I learned at the time.
    And by God I clean a toliet and mop a floor with pride now.

awesome and inspriring
  • Options
    WetRatsWetRats Posts: 6,314
    mwhitt80 said:

Right after I got married the only job I could was a janitor at the church I attended. It was crushing to me.
    I had been working as an accountant for 5 years, but I was also trying to finish my degree and we got married in the middle of 2007 when everything was starting its downward spiral. It was a hardway to start a marriage. My wife was in gradschool for history so that compounded everything even more. It was tough emotionally.

We made it through though and I was humbled more than any point in my life. Looking back 8 years it was one of the most important things that ever happened to me. It made me reavaluate myself and define what was important. I would not trade the shame and crushing blow to myself for anything because of the I learned at the time.