Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

College Comic Book Club

Hello all,

I am a student in my final year at a small college in the suburbs of New York & I was elected as the new president for my schools comic book club for this coming school year. I have been interested in the position for over a year as in the past I did not think the club lived up to its potential. I am hoping to get some feedback and advice from the CGS community in order to make my term as president the very best that it could be. I appreciate all feedback.. seriously.

The Background

As far as I can tell the club is at least ten years old but it also has seen better days. At one point in the clubs history (before my time) the members would publish a magazine with comics from the students who attend the school but this apparently stopped because of a lack of submissions.
During my time as part of the club the meetings have mostly been member run lectures about various topics in comics like "Big Hero Six" or "Villains in comics". The problem with this format (for me at least) is that because one member of the club does all the talking, it just is not very fun for the rest of the club and sort of makes it seem like a class. The other issue is that even if the person running the meetings allows for discussions, the members vary in their awareness of the material. As an example if we are talking about something like Superman, there will be one or two members of the club who are up to date with superman comics, people who know nothing about superman other than what they have seen in other media, and then those who have seen random information on the internet (tumblr, memes, wikipedia) and speak on that. It is hard to have a discussion when everyone is on a different page and not everyone's information is exactly accurate.

My plan